I Left My iPod in El Segundo

zombies, explosions, video games and hip hop. or whatever?

Top 10 Sesame Street Characters

with 14 comments

From about 3rd grade to 11th grade I was without cable so I spent a lot of summers watching The Price is Right and Sesame Street. Growin up, Sesame Street was one of the best things on tv but with the death of Jim Henson and so many lesser known puppeteers the show I used to love is becoming the Simpsons of kids tv. They don’t make them like they used to. I’m not good with numbers so here are a few of my all time favorite characters in no particular order.

Guy Smiley

“America’s Favorite Game Show Host” and a favorite character of mine because who doesnt love a game show? Guy Smiley was pretty high energy guy like a lot of my favorite characters and every single game show he hosted was dope.

The rest of the list continued after the jump

Prairie Dawn

Prairie Dawn was Sesame Street’s little voice of reason and pretty serious as characters on the show go. Plus how many muppet’s have career aspirations as realistic as hers(broadcasting or journalism)? None. Prairie Dawn is my favorite female character on the show I probably had the most in common with her as a kid too haha.

Roosevelt Franklin
Roosevelt Franklin was probably the coolest “person” on tv ever. But apparently he wasnt PC enough and he set a bad example to kids. I never really thought of Roosevelt being a negative stereotype and still dont, another great muppet bites the dust because of unwarranted political correctness. Roosevelt was the cool kid in the school that was smart and liked to scat and rhyme. And how could you not respect a dude with such fly hair?

Grover
He does everything, he’s a superhero, a waiter, a salesmonster, and many other things. He’s a perpetual screw up like me and probably not as much help as he intends to be. Anytime he is on screen with Mr. Johnson its classic television.

Plus, he’s a uniter not a divider.

Yip Yip
YipYipYipYip. Uh-huh. Uh-huh. I was obsessed with the Martians aka the Yip Yips and never felt they were on enough. I wanted them to be on every time I watched. They were simple puppets but their goofyness was hilarious. I think the Yip Yips got government officials nervous asking all those questions, they probably stumbled on some “sensitive information” and are being waterboarded waterboarded somewhere.

Count The Count was wayy fresher back in the day than he is now. “In his earlier appearances in 1972, he was slightly more sinister than he later became. He had hypnotic powers, and was able to stun people by waving his hands. After counting, he uttered a villainous laugh as the thunder crashed, and the colors would change different hues. Later, he became friendlier, dropped the hypnotic powers, and his laugh was changed to a Dracula-style laugh.” Censors tried to keep the Count down but even the neutered version is still cool with me. I remember lovin the more sinister Count von Count and his bats and his old crib, it was real atmospheric stuff.

Oscar
The jerk with the heart of gold. Oscar was cool just because he was so grumpy in the sea of perkiness that is Sesame Street. Because of Oscar I wanted a pet worm like Slimey. He lives in the best trashcan ever, have you seen how big it is?  God bless imaginary physics.

Don Music
The composer with writers block and memory worse than mine? Anyone who can aggravate  Kermit so much is okay in my book. I always thought Don was hardcore bangin his head against the piano but apparently he got yanked because kids were emulating him .

Colambo Muppets + Film Noir Detective Spoofs = “Winning, So Absolutely Winning.” Its a lamb solving crimes damnit! I never saw Columbo nor do I know what Peter Faulk looks like but Colambo was funny and smart. There werent many Colambo skits I think it was a more recent thing but I loved Colambo more than any other anthropomorphic sheep I know.

Alistair Cookie Alaistair Cookie > Cookie Monster. Sorry Cookie Monster fans but a semi civilized Cookie monster is the best thing ever. Having “Alistair” host Monsterpiece Theater and rocking a smoking jacket and ascot is too funny for words. Classic Alistair Cookie:
“It a bit esoteric,”
“Me digress.”
“Me Alistair Cookie,”
He’s still the same googly eye bastard but highbrow. BRILLIANT!

*PS Elmo sucks*

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I forgot about Alistair cookie!!! He was dat dude! GREAT! :D

    lisaturtle

    March 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm

  2. you forgot barkley.

    c delo

    March 11, 2008 at 2:41 am

  3. […] Show Host and a favorite character of mine because who doesnt love a game show?… source: Top 10 Sesame Street Characters, I Left My iPod in El […]

  4. I was on the fence with Barkley I considered adding him as a runner up or replacing Colambo with him lol.

    lazypen

    March 11, 2008 at 9:32 am

  5. 8thlight

    July 18, 2008 at 11:46 pm

  6. Sorry about the last one. :(

    8thlight

    July 18, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  7. haha awesome

    lazypen

    July 19, 2008 at 11:34 pm

  8. This is by far the best thing I’ve read on the Internet all day…and I spend a lot of time reading the Internet.

    Do you remember Oscar’s girlfriend Grungetta? And Hoots, the beatnik owl? Damn…this is the greatest show of all time.

    Mr. Mike

    October 17, 2008 at 12:50 am

  9. Haha Grungetta was cool with me. And I used to always love to hear Hoots do his thing, Hoots was definitely slept on and one of the better newer chracters they created. Sesame Street used to be so amazing.

    lazypen

    October 17, 2008 at 12:47 pm

  10. u guys suc wat bout elmo

    elmo luva

    October 18, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  11. Early on he was alright, but he quickly got
    over saturated and became the annoying face of Sesame Street that he is now.

    lazypen

    October 18, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  12. Hell wit Elmo. Overcommercialized garbage muppet. Everyone knows that Big Bird is the true face of Sesame Street…a regal mascot whose storyline is central to the show but he is not a camera whore.

    Elmo should have spun off and become his own show instead of destroying the sanctity of The Street. Fuck Elmo.

    Mr. Mike

    October 21, 2008 at 12:50 am

  13. Yea if only.

    lazypen

    October 22, 2008 at 1:31 pm

  14. colambo is the greatest ! but the best skit is with kermit when he loses his shit when rehearsing for the musical oklahoma. “eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee……klahoma!” i don’t know about you, but that’s how i learnt my vowels.

    vintagemexican

    November 23, 2009 at 12:08 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

