I Left My iPod in El Segundo

zombies, explosions, video games and hip hop. or whatever?

Paranoid Park

leave a comment »

I’m a sucker for a good movie with a decent amount of skating in it: Kids, Little Children, I even watched Gleaming the Cube a crappy Christian Slater movie because of all the skateboard scenes. Directed by Gus Van Sant of “Good Will Hunting” fame, Paranoid Park follows Alex, a teenage skateboarder who accidentally kills a security guard.  The plot is pretty to the point but the cinematography is immersive and I’m biased toward the culture at hand.  The film like recent Van Sant works is heavy in atmosphere and has a very free flowing narrative. The accidental death continues to gnaw at him and throughout the movie Alex tries to deal with it. I’ve come to expect the minimalist dialogue and plot from Van Sant and in this movie I think it shines remaining very true to life. A majority of the cast used, and the lead role of Alex were non-professional actors which may have added to the movie’s authentic feel. Often (watching CSI, SVU and cop dramas) I wonder if I’d be able to get away with murder. Watching this movie made me consider life after “the deed” and it affects your life and outlook. I really enjoyed this movie though it has pretty limited appeal.
“Paranoid Park is something no one’s ever really ready for” –Jared

Written by lazypen

March 14, 2008 at 3:05 am

Leave a Reply

