I Left My iPod in El Segundo

zombies, explosions, video games and hip hop. or whatever?

Someone Does Not Want Me to See the Roots

with 2 comments

Though the Roots newest album, Rising Down has me hyped I’m really only a casual fan of the Roots. Thanks to the Seed 2.0 I started checking for the Roots and have been listening to their music since then. I havent been going to live shows long but whenever they are in town something seems to go awry. They supposedly put on a great live show, one of the best actually, so I’m trying to catch them eventually.

In 2005 I had a chance to see the Roots for cheap @ UMD but due to a test the next day I gave my ticket up to a friend. And that bastard didnt even go!

In 2007 they were touring pretty extensively with Lupe Fiasco. I was on the fence since A) I had already seen Lupe. B) I was close to broke. C) It was at Constitutional Hall. Seated shows suck and I hate them with a passion. As lame as standing waiting for bands is, general admission shows > seated shows. The venues are usually annoying, way more expensive than normal, and seating means its going to cost you to get a good spot. A couple weeks before the show I scrapped some money together but of course it was too late.

2008 marked the opportunity I thought I’d finally get to see the Roots, and for free. There was going to be a big Earthday concert featuring Philly’s finest and some other acts so I journeyed into slightly crappy weather with Lisa Turtle and her friend Steph. Apparently we should have known better because by the time we reached the National Mall in DC it was like a monsoon had hit. We saw lot of people headed back to the Metro but were to dumb to do the same. Instead we kept going forward to make sure if the concert really was over. Not much happened initially so we were actually on our way out of the torrential downpour. But halfway back concert organizers decided to go on with the show because of the sizable crowd of people braving the shitty weather. An old guy played some acoustic guitar. The concert organizers patted themselves on the back, made speeches. Ed Norton said some stuff about preserving the planet. Then I thought a band would come on. WRONG. Some journalist guy talks until a thunderstorm comes and the concert is pretty much killed. So we get to traipse back to Metro in our beyond soaked clothes. No Roots. No Wale. No Talib Kweli. Not even a hippy jam band. Lame.

monsoon

Maybe I’ll catch them next year.

Written by lazypen

April 20, 2008 at 8:14 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re a hater and I hate you.

    lisaturtle

    April 22, 2008 at 3:52 am

  2. naw, just helping you remember the truth.

    lazypen

    April 22, 2008 at 4:54 am


Leave a Reply

