I Left My iPod in El Segundo

zombies, explosions, video games and hip hop. or whatever?

A Salute to Glasses Faced Americans

with 4 comments

This has been prompted by having contacts stuck in my eyes for 4 days and counting now(I probably have eye cancer now or something). I never wanted contacts but somehow ended with them. So I thought I’d take some time to appreciate some of the finest wearers of glasses I could recall.

Arthur

Arthur isnt the smartest kid. Or the funniest. But damn it he wears a yellow sweater and glasses.

Dwayne Wayne

Glasses and sunglasses combined? Genius! And he was kind of cool too unlike some people who will not be named.

Lupe*

Is an amazing lyricist and happens to wear glasses. The coolest “nerd” you know. There were rappers several rappers that wore glasses before him, but with my short term memory Lupe sticks out most in my mind.

Professor Frink

I love Jerry Lewis I mean Prof. Frink for his crazy mannerisms and general absurdity. He birthed the genius that is HOYVIN-GLAYVIN! Plus he is a proud wearer of coke bottle glasses. Shouts to Hans Moleman too.

Hank Hill

If you piss him off he will kick your ass.

Malcolm X

Malcolm X was a great American whose part in history isn’t given enough credit. I read the Autobiography of Malcolm X in the 5th grade and was naturally fascinated by all that he’s been through. Plus do you see those glasses? Classic.

HRG

This could be the contacts screwin up my sight again but it looks like Noah is wearing a pair of glasses similar to Malcolm X’s. HRG aka Noah was a pretty cryptic character in the first season of Heroes, so mysterious in fact that until he was simply called HRG(Horned Rimmed Glasses) by many for awhile. Something sinister about him in those glasses.

Dexter

Boy genius with a sister even more annoying than Arthur’s. He talked funny. Dexter’s specs were perfect though, dont think I ever saw an episode with them off.

Enid

Impulsive, cynical, bitter and an all around hater. I saw some of my personality in her.

Like Enid but less tragic. There is a good chance wearing glasses makes you a master of sarcasm.

Dr. Bunsen Honeydew

I love his commitment! Theres no way he can see without his glasses, literally. Because Dr. Honeydew has no eyes. His glasses make or break him.

I have a crappy memory so feel free to contribute any inspiring glasses faced Americans I may have forgotten so I can steal them…I mean use them.

*Lupe wears contacts a lot. But upon review I’ll allow it.

Written by lazypen

April 22, 2008 at 11:19 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CONTACTS ARE THE SHIT.

    F THIS POST (minus Lupe and Dwayne Wayne)

    lisaturtle

    April 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

  2. I support this post from afar…

    *wearing contacts*

    escoffery

    April 24, 2008 at 4:18 pm

  3. lolllll les i admire this post…i agree…glasses rule!!!! 🙂

    amirahtheuncool

    May 2, 2008 at 9:57 pm

  4. I stopped watching Heroes when the writers revealed the HRG’s name.
    /randomfact

    cdelo

    May 25, 2008 at 1:09 am


Leave a Reply

